We need you to take action today to prevent the extension of the Rother Valley Steam Railway.


Please take action today.

You have until the 31st May to object to the plans

Objections and comments must be sent to the Secretary of State.

If you object, your objection must:

  • give the reasons for your objection;
  • be in writing (this may include faxes and e-mails);
  • say who is making the objection;
  • give a postal address to which further correspondence should be sent; and
  • be received by the Secretary of State before the end of the objection period.
  • Quote "Rother Valley Railway (Bodiam to Robertsbridge Junction) Order)"

Please write clearly – giving your name and address in block capitals if you are writing your letter by hand

Postal address

Secretary of State for Transport,
c/o Transports and Works Act Orders Unit,
General Counsel's Office,
Department for Transport Zone 1/18,
Great Minster House,
33 Horseferry Road,

When writing to Chris Grayling MP, objections to the principle of Compulsory Purchase Orders will not be counted. Nor will objections to disruptions during the work, as this is temporary. Please keep objections to the point.

Concerns which have been raised so far are:

  • No compelling case for Compulsory Purchase powers to be used to acquire land for non essential infrastructure/hobby railway.


  • No tangible economic benefit to surrounding area. RVR have also admitted that Robertsbridge would not benefit from this project.


  • A total of three new level crossings, one of which will be across the busy A21. This will cause huge disruption to motorists and is contrary to the Government's and Network Rail's policy to remove as many level crossings as possible as they are deemed to be dangerous.


  • Flooding risk. Reports show increased flooding potential to properties in and around Robertsbridge and Salehurst. These have not been mitigated.


  • Destruction of habitats on Moat farm that have been untouched for decades.


  • This is a new railway not a reinstatement as claimed by RVR. The track bed does not exist any longer.


  • Requests for a public enquiry as the documents appear to be inadequate/out of date.


  • Noise, smoke and diesel fume pollution from the trains and emissions from cars held up at the level crossings.

Please also write to the Salehurst and Robertsbridge Local Council with your concerns and objections.

Postal Address

Karen Ripley (Mrs)

Clerk to the Council,

The Parish Office,

Youth Centre,

George Hill,


East Sussex

TN32 5AP


Chariman Nick Greenfield


Other Useful Contacts

Rother District Council Chair

Mrs Mary Barnes

Postal Address:

Mrs. Jane McCullough
Chairman's Assistant,
Rother District Council,
Town Hall,
East Sussex,
TN39 3JX



East Sussex County Council Leader

Councillor Keith Glazier

Postal address:

Pett Road
East Sussex
TN35 4EY

Email: cllr.keith.glazier@eastsussex.gov.uk

Huw Merriman MP

Postal address:
29-31 Sea Road,
Bexhill on Sea,
East Sussex,
TN40 1EE

Amber Rudd MP

Postal address:

Swallow House,

Theaklen Drive,

St Leonards-on-sea,

East Sussex,

TN38 9AZ

Email: amber.rudd.mp@parliament.uk